cuzebox runs great on my TV box

The Uzebox now have a fully functional emulator! Download and discuss it here.
User avatar
Artcfox
Posts: 1302
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 5:35 pm
Contact:

Re: cuzebox runs great on my TV box

Post by Artcfox »

Yes, but please don't link to any test version. It doesn't quit properly (you have to force quit it if you switch away from it), and you need a separate file manager in order to add new games to the hardcoded game path. The touch controls are only for the buttons, and you have to hold the phone flat to use it, because the D-pad is controlled using the accelerometer. :lol: If someone really wants to find them, they can look in the thread so they have the full context.

It really was just a super-rough proof of concept port that I was hoping to pass off to someone who does Android development to polish up, similarly to what happened when I first ported Uzem to asm.js using the Emscripten compiler.

Interesting, I figure it won't be long before Apple removes the ability to run x86 binaries, the same way they removed Rosetta after a while with their last processor switch.

If you use the latest Emscripten to compile a built-in game, it should run fast enough to play on a phone. You'll just need to connect a keyboard USB-OTG, or Bluetooth I presume) in order to play it.

Edit: See the attachment for an example. Note that you can't just double-click the .html file and expect it to work, you need to serve it from a web server. You can run this command in the directory to serve it:

Code: Select all

python3 -m http.server 8080
and then open http://127.0.0.1:8080/cuzebox.html (or use your real IP address to access it from your phone).
Attachments
emscripten_cuzebox_unicorn.zip
You can't double-click the .html file, you need to serve it from a web server. You can run this command in the directory to serve it: python3 -m http.server 8080 and then open http://127.0.0.1:8080/cuzebox.html (or use your real IP address to access it from your phone)
(73.36 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
User avatar
danboid
Posts: 634
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2020 12:14 am

Re: cuzebox runs great on my TV box

Post by danboid »

I've never tried Emscripten and I'm sure it works fine for running cuzebox but personally I have an aversion to using browsers whereever I can. I know it gets silly when you have 16 GB RAM but its something I still do and its one of the man reasons why I use Kate instead of VS Code. Hence, if I was a Mac user I'd be working out how to build a macOS version of CUzebox.

Who knows, it could magically just build by running make if you have Xcode and SDL (installed from MacPorts or whatever) installed. Do no Mac users read these forums?

Disclaimer: OK so I did actually buy the first iMac, I still own an eMac for some reason and I have had Hackintosh installs in the past but Linux is so much faster and more configurable than macOS (or OSX as it was then) that I cut it out of my life several years ago and I'm totally out of touch with macOS now. I can't be bothered to try build cuzebox under macOS myself and I don't want to have to support macOS, it doesn't support me. Plus I have no access to an M1(+) Mac.
User avatar
Artcfox
Posts: 1302
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 5:35 pm
Contact:

Re: cuzebox runs great on my TV box

Post by Artcfox »

Emscripten is a compiler, whose output is a .wasm file. Apparently you don't actually need a web browser to run it. I haven't tried it out yet, but it looks like Wasmer might be able to take that .wasm file and give us native executables for every platform (that don't require a runtime at all): https://wasmer.io/posts/wasm-as-univers ... xecutables

They say there is a performance hit, but if loading it up in a web browser can run it at full speed on my phone, you probably wouldn't notice it on an actual computer, plus if Wasmer actually works, it would be a real native executable.

Just as a test, download and extract that .zip I created and try it out in your browser. You can hit F3, and the OpenGL context inside the window will automatically resize itself. If it's between not supporting OS X at all, versus providing multiple options for running the WASM version, I think it would be wise to give people those options.
Post Reply