This exists!!

What is a Uzebox? How can I get one? Check here!
diegzumillo

This exists!!

Post by diegzumillo »

Wow, youguys. I can't believe this exists! I have been daydreaming for the past few days about this. A simple game console, with cheap parts using microcontrollers, relatively easy to put together, programmable with some higher level language instead of asm, and a working emulator. Seriously, it ticked all the right boxes. Something like this has been looping obsessively in my mind for days! to the point where it's making impossible to focus on my real job. Imagine my surprise when I find this exists!

I'm very excited! I don't know if I'll build one first or if I'll make a game for it. I'm gonna build one first. I'll probably read the wiki, site, and forum for a few days.

I''m still going to obsess about this for a while but it will be a lot less frustrating. Because I didn't know it existed, so I was seeing what would it take to start this project and my background is in physics, not computation or engineering, making me sad I would never pull it off and it would never exist.
Artcfox

Re: This exists!!

Post by Artcfox »

Hehe, awesome! Welcome to the forum, I'm glad you found us.

If you are looking for a gentle introduction that covers all the basics of setting up a dev environment, the emulator(s), and some of the tools, starting from a completely fresh operating system install, I've been working on a video tutorial series that does just that.

Don't let the video lengths deter you, I tried to make it as easy as possible to follow along, as if the viewer was watching my computer screen over my shoulder.