AVR SID thing (pretty cool)

Share unrelated electronics stuff, ideas, rants, etc!
havok1919

AVR SID thing (pretty cool)

Post by havok1919 »

http://www.swinkels.tvtom.pl/swinsid/

Pretty cool-- check out the audio demos. Might be something to learn from in there for Uzeboxen... :-)

-Clay
pragma

Re: AVR SID thing (pretty cool)

Post by pragma »

Neat site. That might be my next project since I have two C64's with sickly/broken SID chips in 'em.

I was just talking with a friend today about offloading the audio processing into another chip, like a co-processor of sorts. This would free up valuable cycles and ROM, for a handful of extra parts and maybe some tricky wiring to mix the two audio outs together. I'm not a circuit designer, so I'm a little out of my depth here.

AFAIK, you can't buy 16 pin OPL chips anymore, so wavetable on something small and dirt-cheap (Attiny for example) might make a suitable replacement (or addition to) the Uzebox's native sound capabilities. And since it's all custom, might as well make the transport between the main CPU and the "sound chip" something debuggable like MIDI; just tap the right pins and plug it into whatever you have handy. Stereo sound would also become a real possibility here too.
uze6666
Site Admin

Post by uze6666 »

Neat! Sounds totally awesome, though I imagine it must eat a lot of CPU too!
... wavetable on something small and dirt-cheap (Attiny for example) might make a suitable replacement (or addition to) the Uzebox's native sound capabilities.
Eh, don't forget the ATtinys don't even have MUL instructions and most don't event have a UART. Though the tiny2313 has a UART and 4 PWM channels. But again it's only available in SMT.

Uze
pragma

Post by pragma »

uze6666 wrote:Neat! Sounds totally awesome, though I imagine it must eat a lot of CPU too!
... wavetable on something small and dirt-cheap (Attiny for example) might make a suitable replacement (or addition to) the Uzebox's native sound capabilities.