Mode 3 Scrolling Game Engine Demo (WIP)

Use this forum to share and discuss Uzebox games and demos.
Artcfox

Mode 3 Scrolling Game Engine Demo (WIP)

Post by Artcfox »

This is something that I've been working on sporadically since 2018, but until a couple months ago it was always just a super messy hack. I've recently started focusing on creating some new graphics and game engine mechanics that do not rely on the level data being randomly accessible, because in the future I want to stream it in from the SD card like in my previous demo.

Screenshot from 2022-12-27 16-39-50.png
Screenshot from 2022-12-27 16-39-50.png (66.22 KiB) Viewed 1176 times
For the time being, the level data is stored in PROGMEM just for simplicity, but it shouldn't be too hard for me to convert it to stream from the SD card later (requiring just a single sector read when new data needs to be loaded). Also, I just wanted to be able to draw the level in GIMP, and then have all of the tiles "come alive" by themselves without much configuration. Some additional PROGMEM arrays need to be stored in flash for the animations and collectables, but I use the whisper console ports to have the game automatically dump the commands for creating those data files, and then I just copy and paste the commands into the terminal and compile it again with that data included.

So far I have:
  • bigger sprites
  • physics engine now capable of colliding a 1x2 entity
  • camera dead zones to reduce camera bounce when doubling back and/or jumping
  • can jump as high as you want above the screen without collisions with stuff in hidden VRAM
  • pits that kill you
  • one way tiles
  • working ladders
  • dissolving one way tiles
  • ground, wall, ceiling hazards (spikes)
  • animated collectables
  • tracking system for when certain classes of tiles enter or leave the VRAM (uses a single bit of RAM for a given tracked tile)
  • ram tile-based popup menu system
  • new sound effects, some using just the noise channel