Coop game development

This forum is for artists to post their music and graphics or discuss artistic matters that could be used in Uzebox games.
Trihook

Coop game development

Post by Trihook »

Hello, I have been tracking this project for a while now, and I think it's time to register and post here. This project is pretty awesome and I like it a lot.
Anyway, I'm a pixel artist, and I'm looking for a coder/game designer to make a small game together. This is a hobby for me, so I can draw when I don't work, I'm by no means a pro artist but I do like them retro pixels!

I'm open to discussion about projects that are half way or are still in the concept stage, so send a message or post here.
Here is some art I drew:

https://i.imgur.com/WASXnFI.png
https://i.imgur.com/npJDVVh.png

https://i.imgur.com/ke34Xt0.png

https://i.imgur.com/1sW0tDt.png

https://i.imgur.com/dCb9ve9.png

https://i.imgur.com/xbFC3AW.png
D3thAdd3r

Re: Coop game development

Post by D3thAdd3r »

Really good art there! If I could commit I would be interested in a joint venture, but probably I wouldn't be able to devote enough time in the near future which I wouldn't want to do to someone. Out of curiosity, what type of games are you considering or interested in? One of those looks nice for something similar to Catlevania, except better as it is all original.
Jubatian

Post by Jubatian »

Huh, nice and quite diverse stuff, I see you have a couple of experiments with attribute mode (2 colors / 8x8 tiles).

To start, you should possibly look around in the existing video modes of Uzebox, notably a lot of them have nonsquare pixels, which gives a bit of extra challenge for graphics design. Video modes on the Wiki

There is also an experimental video mode not yet on the Wiki: Mode 52 (a better demo is a few posts below the image). This has roughly square pixels, at 2 bits per pixels with some attribute and palette swapping capabilities.