Power Switch Does Nothing...

Topics regarding the Uzebox hardware/AVCore/BaseBoard (i.e: PCB, resistors, connectors, part list, schematics, hardware issues, etc.) should go here.
Locked
Gigabite
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 12:44 am

Power Switch Does Nothing...

Post by Gigabite » Thu Jul 02, 2015 10:24 am

The system does turn on and i can get to the main menu without any issues, also the reset button works. But pushing the power button does not turn the system off. So far i've tested the console with a 9v battery barrel jack connector and a 12v ac/dc power adaptor.

User avatar
kivan117
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 5:43 am

Re: Power Switch Does Nothing...

Post by kivan117 » Thu Jul 02, 2015 2:39 pm

The "power" button is actually more of a user defined input than a traditional power button. Certain games like esd attack make use of it and will pause the game and turn off the display, audio, and power led. But even then the console is still on unless it's unplugged. Most games do nothing with it at all. Personally I intend to use it as a button to manually reset the Uzenet module on any of my future Uzenet enabled games.

You're not crazy and your Uzebox works exactly as intended (unless you try running esd attack and it still does nothing)

User avatar
uze6666
Site Admin
Posts: 4487
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 9:13 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: Power Switch Does Nothing...

Post by uze6666 » Thu Jul 02, 2015 4:57 pm

You're not crazy and your Uzebox works exactly as intended (unless you try running esd attack and it still does nothing)
It may not even work with esd attack since it relies on the Avcore design which used another pin for the power button.

We could add the feature in the kernel, but obliviously only newer games would support it. In the end I decided to not add it to avoid confusion and have to explain why it works with some games and not others. A while ago I worked on a solution to use the bootloader for that. It would patch the game to intercept the pin change interrupt, redirect to a routine in the bootloader and enter sleep mode. Didn't work so well in the end for some reasons so I abandoned that. Anyway, at almost 4096 bytes for the bootloader, there's no more flash free!

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests