CUzeBox - The new official Uzebox emulator

The Uzebox now have a fully functional emulator! Download and discuss it here.
User avatar
nicksen782
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 8:23 pm
Location: Detroit, United States
Contact:

Re: CUzeBox - The new official Uzebox emulator

Post by nicksen782 » Wed Apr 11, 2018 2:44 pm

I have updated the Online Player to CUzeBox 20180409.

Is there any update on CunningFellow's UART update going into the CUzeBox master?

User avatar
Jubatian
Posts: 1355
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 9:44 pm
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: CUzeBox - The new official Uzebox emulator

Post by Jubatian » Wed Apr 11, 2018 3:06 pm

nicksen782 wrote:
Wed Apr 11, 2018 2:44 pm
Is there any update on CunningFellow's UART update going into the CUzeBox master?
Not yet, for now it can wait. I plan to make a proper UART emulation.

CunningFellow
Posts: 1174
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 8:08 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: CUzeBox - The new official Uzebox emulator

Post by CunningFellow » Wed Apr 11, 2018 10:35 pm

@nicksen

My patch does not implement any UART functionality apart from a TX complete interrupt. I am using TX_Complete as a pseudo timer to end the scan line. This is similar to how T2K and a few other new video modes since ended the scanline with the 16 bit timer interrupt. The RLE mode had to use the 16 bit timer for other nefarious purposes.

There is no implementation of the data registers or any of the control registers to make the UART useful. All my patch does is trigger an interrupt 1304 clock cycles after a write to the TX_data register. So its absolute only use is for allowing cuzebox to run my RLE video mode.

There is no rush for this to get put into CUzebox unless

A) I stop being slack and finish a game
B) Lots of other people want to start working on games using the RLE mode

User avatar
D3thAdd3r
Posts: 2422
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 10:00 am
Location: Minneapolis, United States

Re: CUzeBox - The new official Uzebox emulator

Post by D3thAdd3r » Mon Aug 13, 2018 4:05 am

I haven't been actively developing for a while but I wanted to run some demos to get inspired again. Damn though, something is now broken since last I tried and the only thing that has changed is that I upgraded to Ubuntu 18.04. Is anyone else experiencing this issue?

Code: Select all

Starting emulator
dbus[2329]: arguments to dbus_message_new_method_call() were incorrect, assertion "path != NULL" failed in file ../../../dbus/dbus-message.c line 1362.
This is normally a bug in some application using the D-Bus library.

  D-Bus not built with -rdynamic so unable to print a backtrace
Aborted (core dumped)

User avatar
Jubatian
Posts: 1355
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 9:44 pm
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: CUzeBox - The new official Uzebox emulator

Post by Jubatian » Mon Aug 13, 2018 4:25 am

D3thAdd3r wrote:
Mon Aug 13, 2018 4:05 am
Damn though, something is now broken since last I tried and the only thing that has changed is that I upgraded to Ubuntu 18.04. Is anyone else experiencing this issue?
I looked a bit around, it is an SDL bug:

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... ug/1775067

Until they fix it (or Ubuntu works it around by using a different version of SDL in their repo), you could revert to SDL1 by an appropriate build configuration (Make_config.mk, set FLAG_USE_SDL1 to 1). It is a bit more limited, but at least might work (unless SDL1 is also affected by the bug).

User avatar
nicksen782
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 8:23 pm
Location: Detroit, United States
Contact:

Re: CUzeBox - The new official Uzebox emulator

Post by nicksen782 » Fri Aug 17, 2018 3:07 pm

I have updated the Online Player to CUzeBox 20180817.

User avatar
ry755
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 6:01 am
Location: California, United States

Re: CUzeBox - The new official Uzebox emulator

Post by ry755 » Sun Sep 16, 2018 4:22 am

I've started working on porting CUzebox to the (new) 3DS, and it kinda works!

Image

The top screen is very screwed up though. I don't think SDL 1.2 supports scaling, Cuzebox is meant to be 640x480 but the 3DS is only 400x240, or 800x240 for the XL model.

Oddly, when the CPU speed it set to 268Mhz, Cuzebox reports 100%, 28Mhz (but runs slowly), but when the CPU speed is set to 804Mhz it reports 40%, 11Mhz.
Last edited by ry755 on Sun Sep 30, 2018 12:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ry755
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 6:01 am
Location: California, United States

Re: CUzeBox - The new official Uzebox emulator

Post by ry755 » Sun Sep 16, 2018 4:57 am

After making a few tweaks it looks much better now!

https://photos.app.goo.gl/KLti7fxvkp1Qhe9R9

User avatar
uze6666
Site Admin
Posts: 4449
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 9:13 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: CUzeBox - The new official Uzebox emulator

Post by uze6666 » Sun Sep 16, 2018 6:12 am

I find this awesome to no end! :mrgreen: I coded for the GB Advance back then so I can appreciate! How's the framerate?

User avatar
ry755
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 6:01 am
Location: California, United States

Re: CUzeBox - The new official Uzebox emulator

Post by ry755 » Sun Sep 16, 2018 7:12 am

uze6666 wrote:
Sun Sep 16, 2018 6:12 am
I find this awesome to no end! :mrgreen: I coded for the GB Advance back then so I can appreciate! How's the framerate?
Thanks! :D According to the console output, it's usually around 12 fps in the faster 804 MHz mode. For some reason when it's in the slow 268 MHz mode it reports 25-30 fps, but it looks much much lower than that.

Once I get it running better, (I'm not exactly sure how to do that, I might need some help with optimizing it) I'll make a separate thread for it.

In the attached zip folder there's a .3dsx file, along with some games and the bootloader included. Put the cuzebox3DS folder into /3ds on the 3DS's SD card.
Tested on a New 3DS XL, firmware 11.6, running Luma 9.1
Attachments
cuzebox3ds.zip
(573.62 KiB) Downloaded 72 times

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest