Help I'm a newb

What is a Uzebox? How can I get one? Check here!
keoni29

Help I'm a newb

Post by keoni29 »

Hi there everyone! I'm keoni29 from the netherlands. I am almost 17 years old and I just love oldskool games. I make games for the ti84 graphic calculators. I made some game maker games too.
I was searching for information about microcontrollers for my profile essay when I found a video about the uzebox console. This is exactely what I've always wanted, but I thought that it didn't exist.
Few questions:
- how long does it take to learn how to make games for this console?
- I have windows 7. It doesn't support the game-port. Is this a problem?
- There are a few versions of the console. Are those compatible? Whats the difference between them?

I'm looking forward to hearing from you.
Last edited by keoni29 on Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
uze6666
Site Admin

Re: Help I'm a newb

Post by uze6666 »

Welcome to the Uzebox, :)
- how long does it take to learn how to make games for this console?
It depends on the kind of game. Simple non-scrolling games like Dr.Mario or Lander can be made in a couple week ends. All in all it depends how comfortable you are in C and programming in general. Since you already made games for other platforms, I just a matter of learning the API. And there's plenty of games with sources that you can use. Plus there's the wiki and folks on this forums that are always glad to help.
- I have windows 7. It doesn't support the game-port. Is this a problem?
What's the game-port? Those old db15 connectors? No you won't need that! All the software tooling works on Windows and USB ports is all you need.
- There are a few versions of the console. Are those compatible? Whats the difference between them?