newbie questions

What is a Uzebox? How can I get one? Check here!
1mpar

newbie questions

Post by 1mpar »

Hi, I just received my uzebox from sparkfun and I got some doubts.

How do I program it? do I need a specific interface?
can I program it using only a SD card? Is there a way to plug the card in my computer, program it and then put it into the board?

the board hasn't got a midi port as I thought it would. How can I connect it to a midi keyboard?

sorry for the basic questions, but I'm an absolute beginner in this area.

thanks,
1mpar
uze6666
Site Admin

Re: newbie questions

Post by uze6666 »

Hey,

I'm afraid your doubts are justified. First, the not so bad news. To program the Uzebox you need an ISP programmer. Something like the AVRISP or the USBTinyUSB . Now the bad news: the AVCore does not have MIDI and does not even expose the UART pin required. If I knew you were considering it, I would have warned you (I assumed you would build one)! Since it won't be of very much use to you for your project, I guess you can return it to Sparkfun...unless, of course, you would like to program some games! ;)

-Uze
1mpar

Post by 1mpar »

hi, Uze

is there a way I can build an external midi interface (i already have an arduino midi shield) or even connect its wires straight to some pins on the board?
which board has the midi input? after I received it I saw that the midi in was optional...

another option would be control/change some midi files using the joystick. it's not what I need, but could be kind of a solution,

BTW, what is the SD card for?

1mpar
1mpar

Post by 1mpar »

can you tell me if this programmer would work for uzebox?
http://www.pololu.com/catalog/product/1300
there's a shop they sell it here in Brazil, so it would be easier and faster.

1mpar
uze6666
Site Admin

Post by uze6666 »

Hi 1mpar,
BTW, what is the SD card for?