New to UZEBOX and have some questions..

What is a Uzebox? How can I get one? Check here!
3vix_6

New to UZEBOX and have some questions..

Post by 3vix_6 »

Hi,

I'm new to the concept of UZEBOX, how does this compare/contrast to the xgamestation? How good/accurate is the documentation
for the device as far as programming is concerned?

Also, are there any plans for a 16/32 bit version of the hardware coming out?

How easy is the uzebox to customize? (hardware is concerned, adding peripherials like a CDROM/ethernet and such)

Thanks!
uze6666
Site Admin

Re: New to UZEBOX and have some questions..

Post by uze6666 »

Hi there, welcome to the Uzebox forums!

I avoid getting into Uzebox vs. XGS debate but to compare apples with apples you should use the XGS AVR for comparisons. Let's just say that it term of performance and functionality they are mostly equivalent. The philosophy is where they differ most. The XGS is a closed design/commercial product with a book and everything that is there to make money. The Uzebox is an open source project that evolves with the work of many peoples who contributes code, tool, knowledge, etc for free. Although you can buy Kit & assembled version of the Uzebox, you can also make it yourself since all schematics are freely available and the design uses a low part count.

Unique to the Uzebox is a full emulator with GDB support, not just a code simulator. This greatly helps develop stuff for the Uzebox. In fact some games like Pac-Man and BC Dash were totally developed on it! And speaking of games, well, the Uzebox has many complete games developed by community members, not just tech demos like the XGS (perhaps there is but I could not find any). Another unique feature is a bootloader that allows you to run games from the SD card. The project also has many tools to convert graphics, music, manage the EEPROM, etc.