Problem with EUzebox

Topics regarding the Uzebox hardware/AVCore/BaseBoard (i.e: PCB, resistors, connectors, part list, schematics, hardware issues, etc.) should go here.
Post Reply
isifloh
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 9:41 pm

Problem with EUzebox

Post by isifloh » Wed Jul 03, 2013 9:51 pm

Hi

I have bought a Euzebox (uzebox with scart ) set and build it.
But now i can't get it to work. 5v and 3.3v are there. The LED does not light up ? Should it ?
I have exchanged the Atmel with a other new programmed one but doesn't help.
Any idear what to check next ?

with nice greetings

User avatar
uze6666
Site Admin
Posts: 4487
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 9:13 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: Problem with EUzebox

Post by uze6666 » Wed Jul 03, 2013 11:48 pm

Do you have access to an oscilloscope or a multimeter with frequency counting?

isifloh
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 9:41 pm

Re: Problem with EUzebox

Post by isifloh » Thu Jul 04, 2013 7:44 am

Hi

Yes i have access to an oscilloscope.

With nice greetings

CunningFellow
Posts: 1216
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 8:08 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Problem with EUzebox

Post by CunningFellow » Fri Jul 05, 2013 10:57 pm

isifloh,

I am looking at the schematic of the euzebox 1.04.

The LED looks like it is directly between 5V and GND. If D1, the red LED is not lighting up then it can only be bad LED or inserted wrong way.

As an aside to this can you just hook up the scope to the xtal to see if it is oscillating at 28mhz.

User avatar
uze6666
Site Admin
Posts: 4487
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 9:13 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: Problem with EUzebox

Post by uze6666 » Fri Jul 05, 2013 11:24 pm

The LED looks like it is directly between 5V and GND. If D1, the red LED is not lighting up then it can only be bad LED or inserted wrong way.
That's right, I never noticed it was not connected to a pin of the 644.

Also check if you have power to all pins connected to VCC. Are you sure the bootloader is programmed correctly and the fuses been set?

User avatar
Janka
Posts: 213
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 10:46 pm
Location: inside Out

Re: Problem with EUzebox

Post by Janka » Sun Jul 07, 2013 5:36 pm

CunningFellow wrote:As an aside to this can you just hook up the scope to the xtal to see if it is oscillating at 28mhz.
Careful with that, the on-chip oscillator is an icky beast. The extra capacitance of the probe will kill the oscillation (not the oscillator, just the "sinus"). You have to use a 1:100 oscillosope probe or hold the probe tip near the oscillator pins without touching them.

Janka

User avatar
Harty123
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 9:30 pm
Location: PM, Germany
Contact:

Re: Problem with EUzebox

Post by Harty123 » Tue Jul 09, 2013 10:43 pm

Hi,

yes the LED is directly connected to 5V DC. Check the 5V voltage after the 7805 regulator and the input voltage before this regulator. If you want pls send me your EUzebox back. I will check and repair it for free. Don't forget return postage in this case...

Cheers

Harty

isifloh
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 9:41 pm

Re: Problem with EUzebox

Post by isifloh » Fri Jul 12, 2013 9:05 am

hi

sorry for my delay...
the led is now working (the old one was bad).
@Harty123 i will contact you.

with nice greetings
Heinz

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests