Why does the Euzebox work at all?

Topics regarding the Uzebox hardware/AVCore/BaseBoard (i.e: PCB, resistors, connectors, part list, schematics, hardware issues, etc.) should go here.
NoOne

Why does the Euzebox work at all?

Post by NoOne »

I have both a Fuzebox from adafruit and an Euzebox (like both very much! :P), but theres one thing I dont understand:
Why does the Euzebox work on a PAL TV? I thought it outputs 60/30? fps and what about the difference of total scan lines?
Am I seeing this right, there are black lines in between?

Thanks for explaining ... :roll:
greenpower

Re: Why does the Euzebox work at all?

Post by greenpower »

Hi,
The Euzebox doesn't work in a PAL-only TV. The thing is that it outputs bare RGB singals through the SCART plug to the TV, so if the TV is NTSC-capable it will output video clearly. Normally all new TV's come with NTSC capabilyties.
Hope that helps.
I know i'm too young, but it doesn't matters. Maybe i'm a newbie, but i can learn very fastly
NoOne

Post by NoOne »

Hm ... but I think my TV can't handle NTSC.
When I connect my Fuzebox via S-Video or CVBS I only get B/W images and theres no NTSC option in any menu.

Beside that I noticed the image of the Euzebox is slightly shifted left:
IMG_0045.jpg
IMG_0045.jpg (74.5 KiB) Viewed 5980 times
NoOne

Post by NoOne »

On the first photo is a CRT and on the second a plasma TV.
The Fuzebox works great on the plasma.
IMG_0046.jpg
IMG_0046.jpg (75.89 KiB) Viewed 5974 times
uze6666
Site Admin

Post by uze6666 »

Saw that kind of left shift before...it was the TV that could not handle the "special" NTSC timing produced by the Uzebox kernel. AFAIK, there's not much one can do about it. :(
greenpower

Post by greenpower »

Can you tell me the names of both TVs? Brand, model, ect. I could search some info and help you!
I know i'm too young, but it doesn't matters. Maybe i'm a newbie, but i can learn very fastly
NoOne

Post by NoOne »