TriggerFx sometimes gets stuck on a note

Topics related to the API, programming discussions & questions, coding tips, bugs, etc. should go here.
Artcfox

TriggerFx sometimes gets stuck on a note

Post by Artcfox »

Greetings everyone. My name is Matt, and I'm new to the UZEBOX community. So far I've been very impressed with what the UZEBOX is capable of.

I am trying to use TriggerFx() to play sound effects for a game I'm working on, but sometimes it gets stuck on a note, and then after a while (not sure the trigger) it gets unstuck and continues playing the sound. I read the tutorials, and the wiki, and forum posts, but I'm still not sure whether I want true or false for the last parameter. It doesn't seem to matter, as the note sometimes gets stuck either way.

It's hard to pin down exactly what I'm doing to cause this to happen, but I have noticed it more when I'm attempting to play multiple sounds very close together in time.

Here is what my patches.inc file looks like:

Code: Select all

//FX: jump
const char patch00[] PROGMEM ={
0,PC_WAVE,3,
0,PC_ENV_SPEED,-8,
0,PC_PITCH,80,
1,PC_NOTE_UP,4,
1,PC_NOTE_CUT,0,
0,PATCH_END
};

//FX: kill monster
const char patch01[] PROGMEM ={
0,PC_WAVE,4,
0,PC_ENV_SPEED,-8,
1,PC_PITCH,84,
1,PC_PITCH,80,
1,PC_PITCH,81,
1,PC_PITCH,80,
1,PC_NOTE_CUT,0,
0,PATCH_END
};

//FX: collect cookie
const char patch02[] PROGMEM ={
0,PC_WAVE,4,
0,PC_ENV_SPEED,-8,
1,PC_PITCH,95,
1,PC_NOTE_UP,2,
1,PC_NOTE_UP,2,
1,PC_NOTE_CUT,0,
0,PATCH_END
};

//FX: player death
const char patch03[] PROGMEM ={
0,PC_WAVE,4,
0,PC_ENV_SPEED,-16,
1,PC_PITCH,54,
1,PC_NOTE_DOWN,2,
1,PC_NOTE_DOWN,3,
1,PC_NOTE_CUT,0,
0,PATCH_END
};

const struct PatchStruct patches[] PROGMEM = {
{0,NULL,patch00,0,0},
{0,NULL,patch01,0,0},
{0,NULL,patch02,0,0},
{0,NULL,patch03,0,0},
};
And here is how I'm calling the effects from various places in my code:

TriggerFx(3, 128, true);

TriggerFx(1, 128, true);

TriggerFx(2, 128, true);

TriggerFx(0, 128, true);