Uzenet Shell

Topics related to the API, programming discussions & questions, coding tips, bugs, etc. should go here.
D3thAdd3r

Uzenet Shell

Post by D3thAdd3r »

I'm on a warpath to find instant real uses for both Uzenet and the expansion ram, especially if they require little work. I started playing with pipes and console redirection(never was a linux poweruser so this type of stuff seems new and amazing to me). It ties in nicely with my side hobby(Uzebox has slowly become my main hobby over the years) where distributed computing is a big factor for some primitive AI network. Long story short, pipes are very easy and they allow a string to be executed on the Uzenet server and the results spit back to Uzebox. Right now all I have allowed access to is the lynx web browser to dump text versions of webpages so the Uzebox can, in theory, already browse the web once the appropriate program has been made. Even text versions of webpages can quickly exhaust the internal 644 ram, let alone the UART buffer, so all of this shell access stuff depends on SPI ram working cleanly. Lynx itself makes the majority of pages I tested surprisingly usable, including these forums, and I think it should be a standard service on some low cpu priority "Uzenet frills" server. I'm just fishing for a brainstorm here, I think the uses are only limited by interest in doing so.